The Importance of Forgiveness in Marriage Counselling

This is not easy, but it’s worth it.

David James
10 min readNov 18, 2023
Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

I will start by admitting a few things prior to sharing my findings. I am not a counsellor, I have never been to counselling, and I am not married. So, why on earth am I writing an article about this and why should you read it? I am a Christian (not sure I should have started with that), I believe in the power of forgiveness and have experienced it to the greatest degree possible, I studied counselling at university, and wrote an assignment on the importance of forgiveness in helping committed couples regain trust and move forward in their relationship. This essay was well researched and is objective, at least as objective as someone can be on such a sensitive topic.

With that said, the edited essay follows. Please grade it and share your thoughts in the comments section.

In an ideal world forgiveness would not be necessary, however we do not live in an ideal world. The reality of human nature and relationships are such that a breach of trust can happen, and forgiveness is essential.

Feelings of being let down by a partner in a relationship vary in scale, severity and outcome. When a partner fails to empty the bins or collect the groceries from the shop a partner might be annoyed for a short period of time, with no…

--

--

David James

Christian Theology student providing content on faith, Christianity, culture and how that impacts us today.